Exploring the transformative power of love

Happy Now

 

It’s a good thing my 75-year-old body grounds me to this earth, otherwise my Spirit would just float off! The mystery I call love is my goal.

Since I put on my earth suit, love has come to me in bits and pieces. Now I know there’s more – much more.

Love never runs out.

Love is Big

Life is Big.

And Happy is part of both.

In my life, the bits and pieces of love I’ve gotten have made me feel crappy. Now I want happy, so is  the leap I’ve chosen to make.

Last month, I was swimming at the ‘Y’ on Quince Road, when I was splashed by Happy in the form of a beautiful young man of 19 from the war-infested Middle East. Even though he’s been forced to live through war’s pain, he accepts everyone as beings to be loved, not as war’s participants – not as his enemies.

Inviting him into my heart and our home has been a real heart-opener for me. Sharing life’s moments with him reminds me that true love has nothing to do with age, looks, smells, what I drive or what part of town I live in.

The love this young man and I share is not a romantic love, but a God Affair.  It teaches me daily that love is a solvable mystery and nothing can take its place.

At 75, I accept no substitutes.  I want what brings me Happy – not crappy.  And the joy of it is, now I know the difference. Out goes my idea that one must be mature (certainly over 19!) to “get” Love’s mystery and live it.

My 75-year-old body is going to pot, but my spirit is downright perky when it comes to love – no matter when, where or from who it appears. I’m glad my body’s got me grounded because I’m not through with life.  Love is Big.  Life is Big. There is plenty to go around — no matter what your age.

Comments on: "Happy Now" (2)

  1. isfahaaan said:

    Thanks for visiting my blog–glad you led me to yours. You seem wonderful and so full of life. To see that is inspiring, and reminds me that I’ve hardly lived yet. And that you never know where and when you can find love. Or in what form. I hope to have your vigor and cheery disposition when I’m your age and to still be receptive to all the good things still in this world. Cheers 🙂

    • I HAVE GOTTEN BACK IN TOUCH WITH MY HEALED CHILD WHO WAS NEVER ALLOWED TO EXPRESS OR GET OUT OF MY BOX–JUST OBEY, LOOK GOOD FIT IN AND i HATED IT– Thank MAKING UP FOR LOST TIME—i AM NOW 85 AND ITIS A NEW PLACE OF ADVENTURE AND i PLAY WITH IT IN MY OWN WAY . WE ARE UNIQUE AND WONDERFUL . Thanks FOR YOUR CHEERS!

Leave a Reply

